An end to a journey

One week and counting. As of February 28th, I will have finished my teaching contract here in Thailand. I’ve had mixed feelings, but what I’ve felt most is relief. I think I’ve been ready to move on for a few weeks. Sure, I get bored with routines, and that’s part of it, but I am starting to get lonely. For the first couple months I was fine with being isolated. I was able to enjoy the peace and quite. But now, I really miss hanging out with friends or even just people my age who speak the same language. It looks like the end of my contract couldn’t have come at a better time. Exciting adventures lay ahead before I make my way home.

The day after I finish teaching I am taking off on a 6-week backpacking trip. I’ll spend a few days with friends on Koh Tao but after that, I’m on my own. The plan is to head South from Koh Tao to Krabi and Koh Phi Phi. After a week or so there, I will be heading to Malaysia to check out George Town and meet with a friend in Kuala Lumpar. If I’m lucky she’ll travel with me down to Melaka (Malacca) for a couple of days before I continue on down to Singapore.  From Singapore I’ll fly to Indonesia for close to 2 weeks. Lastly, I’ll fly back to Thailand to celebrated the annual Songkram festival with friends in Chiang Mai. It’ll be a long journey with lots of traveling but I’ve planned minimal to no activities. There’ll be plenty of time to relax. I look forward to meeting many other travelers along the way. 

Coming home is going to be rough but I look forward to assimilating my new perspectives and attitude to my life in the states. 

I’ll be sure to share my experiences and insights of the places I visit upon return home.

Here goes! 😀

15 comments on “An end to a journey

  1. seasiangirl says:

    enjoy your trip 😉 I have just arrived back in Thailand and will be on the job hunt soon enough but just enjoying my time with friends for a while

    • elstadl says:

      Thank you and welcome back! 🙂 What part are you staying in? It’s going to be so hard to leave this part of the world. I love how laid back it is here.

      • seasiangirl says:

        I am based in Surin for the time being but I plan to live in Bangkok or just outside.. that’s the plan anyway so will see what pans out… Yes, it is so laid back. I went home to UK for 2 years and everyone is just rushing around here and there its exhausting! 😉

  2. Erin Elaine says:

    An end to one journey, and the beginning of the next!

  3. Celia Ro says:

    Have a safe trip and have fun!

  4. Hello
    We are looking for a school around Bang saphan. It seems hard to find one at least bilingual.
    Would you have some adress . Was yours ok ?
    Thanks in advance

    • elstadl says:

      Hi Laetitia Launay. Unfortunately I don’t know of any bilingual schools in the area. If you want a bilingual school trying looking for an “International school.” I will ask the other teachers here and if they know of one I will let you know 🙂 Most of the schools will teach all subjects in Thai. English is only used during English class. I would recommend my school because it is small which makes for smaller classes. It is called Anuban Darunwattana and it is located in BangSapan Noi. It is a primary school, not only Kindergarten. They teach Kindergarten through Pratom 6. I can send the address or website later 🙂 I hope this helps!

  5. mrtesol says:

    Sounds like good times and fun ahead! 🙂 Rob.

  6. Sounds like fun adventures ahead! You are right to schedule lazy days in your trip- I had do nothing days on my recent 23 days solo Asian trip and it felt so good to just destress! Good luck, safe travels and have fun! 🙂

  7. Lindsey, This s SO exciting! Congrats on completing your contract and taking off on an adventure! So where are you now? ~Terri

    • elstadl says:

      Thanks Terri! Teaching was a great experience but I have been so eager to travel more. I am currently in Kuala Lumpar. I’m staying with a friend I met in Chiang Mai. She is native to Malaysia and has been such a great host. Meeting new people is one of the best parts of traveling. I’m on cloud 9 right now 🙂 Where are you and James now? – Lindsey

Leave a Reply

