Finding Peace of Mind in the Thai Countryside

It’s the simple things in life that can bring us so much joy. It may be a cliché, but it’s true!

A couple of weekends ago I was feeling a little stressed and down. I decided taking a ride through the countryside on a motorbike would help clear my head. It absolutely did the trick. I stopped at the beach to take in the sound of the rolling waves. I pointed a lost couple in the right direction and visited a small beach town I had been to a couple of times before. I tried a restaurant on the beach and ordered fresh fish. YUM. I had to race the sun home but this short adventure brought me so much peace. The Thai countryside is so lovely. Remember not to underestimate the value of alone time as well as the value of quiet time! Carpe Diem!

5 comments on “Finding Peace of Mind in the Thai Countryside

  1. bogdanem says:

    I think I know what you mean as I lately made 2 weeks solo bicycle trip, it was really good to spend so much time almost alone. After reading your post and watching photos I got hungry for good fish, but unfortunately I’ve got only tinned smoked sardines available 😦

    • elstadl says:

      Where did you go for two weeks? That sounds amazing! I wouldn’t be in the right physical shape for a journey like that but I image it’s a great way to clear your head and enjoy some peace 🙂

  2. bogdanem says:

    I rode along eastern Poland from south to north, just started to write about it in latest posts. It was really tiring, esp. closer to the sea with opposite wind, but as you wrote “great way to clear your head and enjoy some peace”. Besides, it was good opportunity to meet fantastic people, like retired man from South Africa, the third year riding the world on bicycle with trailer. I already can’t wait to another bike trip 🙂

  3. elstadl says:

    Reblogged this on A Flâneur Abroad and commented:

    It’s been over two years and this day is still vivid in my mind. One of the best days of my life.

    I think it’s when I finally FELT the truth that you can do anything you want to. Seeing that I could move across the world alone, find work and find happiness (despite being isolated) instilled so much confidence in myself.

    Riding through rural Thailand on a motorbike with coconut trees in every direction and random steer bathing in shady groves was hilarious. The contrast between life in the U.S. and that day was thrilling. I’d love to relive that day to transcend the stress and anxiety that day-to-day life creates.

    What memories do you hold that you would like to relive?

Leave a Reply

