Dinner Surprises

Above are a few pictures of my dinner from a few weeks ago and again a few days ago. Upon first glance of the bowl I was a little anxious. My dinner looked… kinda gross.

I said to myself, “We don’t eat things like this in America…” Or at least, I don’t. It reminds me of eating bugs. But it’s not bugs. It’s fish and it is sustenance and nutrients. I could either stress myself out trying to communicate that I didn’t want it without offending the cook, or I could just try to eat it. And so I did. It didn’t taste great and the texture was foreign and uncomfortable. I ate as much as I could with giant spoonfuls of rice. The second time, I mixed them into the noodles. Just another typical dinner experience in a foreign culture. Each day brings new surprises.

Leave a Reply

