I’M MOVING TO THAILAND!

Let the flâneuring begin…

FINALLY, after years of talking about moving abroad, my time has come. This August I will be embarking on a new adventure and moving to Chiang Mai, Thailand.

The question I get most often is “Why Thailand?”

Answer:

The culture, people, climate, and cost of living.

For those of you who know me well, you know I’m almost ALWAYS cold. I decided many years ago that I need to spend at least one year of my life living somewhere tropical. Perhaps after getting it out of my system I will learn to better appreciate Seattle’s cold, drizzly, yet mild weather. “Tropical” narrows down my search quite a bit. Up until a couple of years ago, I knew next to nothing about SE Asia. Over the past couple of years I have heard first hand testimonials and read numerous travel blogs that confirm the beauty and wonder that is SE Asia. After months of research and asking around, I have come to learn that the people of Thailand are known to be some of the most friendly and hospitable people in all of SE Asia (maybe even globally). Roughly 80% of the people are Buddhist and live peaceful lives. The people are known as the ‘smiley’ people. This atmosphere combined with Thailand’s incredibly cheap cost of living, interesting cuisine, and my fascination with different cultures (hence being an Anthropology major) makes it an ideal destination for me.

My main goal is to escape the city for a different pace of life. I’m very type ‘A’ and plan, plan, plan to the point that there is no time left for down time. I’m exhausted. I’m only 24 and I feel burnt out. How can that be?

I’m hoping some time in Thailand can provide me with some peace and perspective on my life.

The Plan:

I will be departing in the early morning on August the 28th. After a layover in Taipei, then again in Bangkok, I will board my last flight for Chiang Mai, in northern Thailand. On the 2nd of September I will begin my month-long class with SEE TEFL to get certified to teach English. After completion, I plan to find part-time work with a language school (or whatever is available). Since I will only be working part-time, this will give me time to explore the city, make friends, and enjoy all the typical tourist activities. I will practice writing by utilizing this blog. Once I feel confident in my writing abilities, I plan to supplement my income through travel writing and selling photos to stock imagery sites. My dream is to be financially independent one day. If I can make enough money through travel writing and selling photos, I will be able to make my monthly student loan payments and extend my living abroad experience! Time and hard work will tell where I end up, and when I come home.

A Big Thanks:

I want to thank all of my friends who have been supportive over the last couple years in my dream to move abroad. I may have never worked up the guts to make this jump without your support and encouragement.

11 comments on “I’M MOVING TO THAILAND!

  1. Erin Elaine says:

    I’m so excited for you! This is going to be an amazing experience, and you will be so happy with yourself for taking the leap. 🙂

  2. What an exciting adventure. I used to work at a Thai restaurant. They are very nice! I have been wanting to teach English abroad for years in Thailand. I hope you have a great time, and I can’t wait to read about your experiences!

    • elstadl says:

      Thanks Angela! I really appreciate the support 🙂 I suspect it will be a life-changing experience. If you’re still considering teaching there, and are in a position to do so, feel free to contact me at any point to discuss it.

  3. Celia Ro says:

    How exciting! Teaching English in Thailand will be fun.

    • elstadl says:

      I think so too Celia! I can’t wait 🙂 I’ll miss you guys but maybe we can meet up in China sometime if you plan to visit soon. ❤ Lindsey

  4. Lindsey, this is wonderful news – and a dream come true for you! Congratulations. You’re going to do great and I’m so excited for you. Plus Chiang Mai totally rocks! All the best, Terri

    • elstadl says:

      Hi Terri,
      Thanks! I’m so thankful that I am finally able to chase my dreams. What more can someone ask for in life? Your post about teaching the immigrant Vietnamese students was an inspiration. I too will be teaching although I am unsure of which age. I’ve heard great things about Chiang Mai and am anxious to start this new chapter in my life there! Carpe Diem, Lindsey.

  5. Alison says:

    Hi Lindsey, welcome to the blogging world. Thanks for visiting and following our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our travels, both inner and outer. It’s not often we meet a fellow ‘flaneur’ – very few people know the word I think. Flaneuring was what we most did in Chiang Mai.
    Congratulations on the big move!
    Blessings and safe travels
    Alison

    • elstadl says:

      Hi Alison, thank you! I am very excited to start this new chapter in my life. Your stories and the stories from other fellow bloggers make me feel right at home in my quest to experience life in a different way. The more I read, the more my “wish list” grows. I hope to be able to find a way to live as an expat for an extended period of time. Let the learning begin! I look forward to reading your stories 🙂

  6. blade3colorado says:

    Lindsey, when you are in Chiang Mai, you’ll be fairly close to Pai . . . Don’t miss an opportunity to visit this small city. I guarantee that you will love it. The hot springs are the main attraction, along with the beautiful forest. In fact, I would suggest the Pai Hot Springs Hotel, a luxury hotel at Motel 8 prices (seriously). The grounds are park like with stunning views; elephants walk along the river daily; the hotel has an excellent restaurant; as well as the best hot springs/massage services in Pai. Good luck on your adventure to Thailand!

    • elstadl says:

      Hi Steve, thank you so much for this suggestion. Pai sounds lovely and I haven’t heard mention of it from anyone yet. It’s going on my “to do” list right now! One more place to look forward to 🙂 Take care and happy travels. – Lindsey

Leave a Reply

